My Right Hand

“For I, the Lord your God, hold your right hand; it is I who say to you, ‘Fear not, I am the one who helps you.'”

– Isaiah 41:13, ESV

Every Christian has their “big” struggles, the temptations and sins that challenge them more than some others. Two of mine are fear and control – or, in other words, I feel afraid (to the point of panic) when I don’t feel in control. I hate uncertainty and always want to know exactly what to expect  and what to do in each situation.

As you may have noticed, life doesn’t usually fit into this neat little box known as my comfort zone – and, in order to be a healthy Christian, I don’t think it’s supposed to. After all, why would we need to trust God if we never got stretched beyond our trust in ourselves?

The above verse from Isaiah has been one of my favorites for a long time. In those many moments when I feel overwhelmed, this verse reminds me that God’s got this, whatever “this” may be at the time. But tonight as I prayed about some issues that have been troubling me, the Lord brought this verse to my mind and I saw a new angle to it that I had never noticed.

In the Bible, the right hand is often used not just literally but as a figurative symbol for strength, for capability, for control (see Exodus 15:6 for an example). Too often, my right hand is busy trying to take care of my life and make everything go the way I want it to. Sometimes I feel as if I’m attempting to hold together the cosmos and force them to spin in the direction that keeps me feeling safe – which is most definitely not my job (no wonder I feel stressed so often).

But if God holds my right hand, I can’t be exerting my own strength or control. I become entirely dependent on Him, the One whose right hand is completely and abundantly sufficient for everything I could ever encounter. And once God has stilled my too-busy right hand in His grasp, He uses His own to take care of all those things that I was so worried about – and more.

I don’t know if this post hit home for you, but whether or not you’ve ever struggled with this issue, I hope you’ll take this away from it: God is all-powerful, but He never violates our free will. Only when we surrender to Him can He get to work in our lives the way He desires to. Join me today in holding out your right hand to Him and letting Him take hold of it. Let Him put an end to your work so that His can begin. Blessed be the name of the Lord!

2 thoughts on “My Right Hand

  1. I relate with this! In my recent health battle I had to relinquish my control and let God guide my path. Letting God be truly in control can be peaceful if you will let go. On night when I was hit with an unexpected set back I was feeling a little defeated and confused so as I prepared to go to sleep I prayed God hold me in your arms so I can sleep and not worry! I fell asleep fairly quickly but woke sometime later to Casting Crowns “Just be hold” this song has become my mantra. I truly believe God was speaking directly to me in that song. God has our life in His capable hands if we just let Him direct our path.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing, Lissa! Letting go and letting God is something I seem to have to learn over and over again, but it is wonderful how He holds us when we let Him! I also love the song “Just Be Held” and have listened to it many times when I had trouble letting go. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

