Cosplay Showcase: Wolverine (Fem)

img_1046-edited-2

Welcome to my second cosplay post! Before I share too many pictures, I want to say that this costume is not entirely screen accurate. It’s based on Wolverine’s casual outfit from the beginning of the first X-Men movie (the one he wears in the bar scene and later).

X-Men was one of the first “grown-up” superhero films I ever saw and Wolverine has been one of my favorite comic characters ever since. The character has been interpreted a lot of different ways over the years, but my favorite version of him is in this film: rough around the edges, but a hero underneath it all. And, let’s just admit it, it’s pretty awesome that he has retractable short swords in his hands.

While I think this cosplay is pretty close to the mark, it’s not perfect because I threw it together in about ten minutes. I had a chance to use some Wolverine claw props in a photoshoot so, of course, I had to have a costume! Who passes up a chance to pose with Wolverine claws?

With that in mind, enjoy the photos of my casual Wolverine cosplay!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Favorite memory in this cosplay: Trying to act serious, fierce, and/or cocky while my best friend snapped the photos, and then cracking up in between shots because of how ridiculous it felt. Wolverine is a very different persona from my actual personality  – case in point, I was using apple juice for the “bar” photos.

Favorite thing about this cosplay: This pretty much defines a no-brainer, especially for a sword-crazy person like me…100% the prop claws. It took some time before I was willing to put them down…

Changes in mind for this cosplay: This was more of a fun cosplay than a super-accurate one, so if I was to do it again, I’d like to make it more true to the film. I’d also like to take some more pictures in better lighting, because while I’m really happy with what I have, indoor lighting is just difficult to work with.

Thanks for visiting! Hope you enjoyed the photos. And for those of you who go see Logan this weekend (I’m too squeamish for R-rated films, so I’ll sadly be missing out), have fun and say farewell to Hugh Jackman’s Wolverine for me (sniff sniff).

 

 

Leave a Reply

