COVER REVEAL: Dr. Flynn’s Shelter for Peculiar Animals

Hello everyone! I have some exciting news today. I had the pleasure of meeting Alea Harper, an aspiring Christian author like myself, through her blog, and she graciously agreed to design a book cover for my Wattpad story, Dr. Flynn’s Shelter for Peculiar Animals.

Alea is an amazing cover designer, and her blog has some awesome articles on everything from writing tips to book reviews, so please check out her site. 🙂

I decided this cover reveal would be a fun opportunity to showcase my story as a whole, for those who may not be familiar with it. But first, without further ado, the new cover!

dr flynns shelter for peculiar animals cover 4

Cover design by Alea Harper, Font design by Ani Petrova

Isn’t it amazing?! Okay, I’m just the tiniest bit psyched about it…Alea did an amazing job and it was so fun to work with her.

Want to look beyond the cover? Below are some fun tidbits about Dr. Flynn’s Shelter for Peculiar Animals. Don’t forget to read the full story on Wattpad!

Story Synopsis:

I never asked to be different. Still, I guess a girl named “Althea” couldn’t expect to be totally normal. My parents never really helped matters either. It was their idea to go to Dr. Flynn’s Shelter for Peculiar Animals for my thirteenth birthday, instead of an ordinary dog shelter as I requested. That visit to Dr. Flynn’s brought my life to a whole new level of “different.” But I’m getting ahead of myself…

My name is Althea Monroe, and the book you’re holding is my story. Hang on tight.

Best Lines (so far):

Chapter 1: It’s my destiny to be different. At least, that’s what I assume, since I never asked to be. (Ally)

Chapter 2: My parents look at me, then at each other, doing this weird silent-communication thing with their eyes. I can’t even count how many times in my life they’ve made decisions without saying a word to each other. But I can count on one hand the number of times those silent decisions ended well for me. (Ally)

Chapter 3: I lift my head and follow [my dad’s] gaze out the window. On the side of the road is a sign staked into the ground that I’m positive wasn’t there before. It reads, “Turn here for Dr. Flynn’s Shelter for Peculiar Animals.” (Ally)

Chapter 4: I see more deer, five of them. These look more ordinary, except for large, lumpy deformities on their sides…Suddenly, one of the deer raises its head and the deformities move, unfurling into a huge pair of wings – wings!” (Ally)

Chapter 5: This…is the last surviving dragon on earth. Or, at least, he’s the only one I’ve been able to locate. (Dr. Flynn)

Chapter 6: I walk carefully, maneuvering my feet around Scorch, who is squealing louder than ever and jumping around my legs, flapping his tiny wings in excitement.

…and many more to come!

Similar Stories:

My goal in writing Dr. Flynn’s Shelter for Peculiar Animals was to create the traditional “kid meets pet” story with a fantasy twist. Here are a few books I loved growing up that have a “vibe” similar to my story:

Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo

The Enormous Egg by Oliver Butterworth

Thank you for visiting my cover reveal post! I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. Happy reading!

2 thoughts on “COVER REVEAL: Dr. Flynn’s Shelter for Peculiar Animals

Leave a Reply

